The Heist

 

 

diamond

 

 

The police were behind me and I was putting the pedal to the medal. I was shifting through the gears trying to keep one step ahead of the law. I had just been involved in the largest diamond heist in history. My brothers in crime and I had planned this robbery for two years it was supposed to go off without a hitch. My oldest brother, the ring leader Mike forgot this one important step, “How to get out of this place”. The streets were narrow and I was moving about eighty miles an hour. The tires were screeching at every turn, certainly they would hold up. I went up on the sidewalk to avoid hitting and small sedan car when all of a sudden I heard gunfire. The cops were shooting at my tires and one bullet went through the back window and lodged into the dashboard. The fibers from the dash filled the air and breathing was getting compromised. I rolled down the window to air the dust out when a shot came and hit me on the shoulder. The blast took my arm off the wheel and I swerved into a fire hydrant and then smashed into a chain link fence.

I woke up in a hospital, handcuffed to the side rail. Still not comprehending why the lockdown, I started hollering for someone to help. A petite young nurse came into the room. Her name was Lily and I could tell that she was a newly registered nurse, RN. She smiled at me, approaching gingerly. I spoke up, loudly too. WHY AM I IN THIS PLACE LADY? The nurse backed off and headed for the door. I tried again, Please why have I been brought to this location? Miss Nurse! Please Stop! I need to know why I am here. Lily walked slowly back toward me to explain.

Locked up in the bellows of the prison feeling so desolate, lonely, bored, and depressed. I have been marking in my notebook everyday I sit here. There has been no one to visit. I start thinking about my brothers and their whereabouts. I wonder if they have been captured like I. When will time move? This is a horrible place to be. I’m not sure I can take this anymore. Screaming out, there is no one answer.  Please! Please! Someone come here, I need someone to talk to. A man appeared. He was dressed in a dark suit, Louis Vuitton, best that anyone makes. The man stood in front of me. Sir, please listen to me carefully. I stood at the edges of the room, head between the bars of seclusion. The man replied, You need to tell me everything you know about the night of the diamond heist. Who was behind this? Who commanded the operation? It is what information that you give me as to a possible release from this prison. I spent the next two hours giving this man everything of importance. I was not going to tell him where the diamonds were hidden. I didn’t know where they were at this point anyhow. He didn’t ask.

This warm sunshine today feels so good. The woman on my side gives me comfort. It has been two years since my release from prison. Two days after the man appeared I was released. I lay here on the beach today, dreaming about what was to be paid for my freedom. My girl and I decided to walk back from the beach and go take a shower at our hotel room here in the Bahama’s. The door was found cracked open, I told my girl to go away, I needed to check this room. I ran inside hollering out at the same time. There was no one inside but note was on the floor next to it one single bullet. The note said this. “YOU HAVE TWO DAYS TO BRING THE DIAMONDS TO ROOM 59, MEET AT 6PM, BE THERE OR ELSE “. This was a threat that I could not runaway with. I was going to die if not completing this demand. The day came and I proceeded to the room. Room 59, I knocked on the door. A man said, ” Please Come In My Friend”. The room was very dark and a silhouette of a man appeared. The light turned on and in front of me was my older brother, the ring leader of the operation. Hi, how have you been brother? He replied. I was dumbfounded and excited at the same time. We hugged each other. Guess what brother? He replied. These words are etched forever, “WE ARE RICH”.                                                                                                     D.H.Bilodeau 2015

One comment

Leave a Reply

