Where Have You Gone Mary?

Men in plane

 

The screech of tires made me turn and look what danger was coming at us. Mary and I were walking to Wally’s Store for a hot coffee and a pastry. This had been our routine every Thursday. The road we take is a shortcut from our trailer at the park. It is just a goat trail but on occasions vehicles take this road to get to the main road, Federal Road. Some people come back here to buy and sell drugs so we always make sure to go before dark. Mary turned her head too, screaming. There was a loud thumping sound and I saw Mary flying through the air.

Standing at full attention. The Commanding Officer was very intimidating. The squad and I were being instructed on our mission. We were going to war in a foreign country and the jet was leaving in five minutes. I had a few minutes to reflect on life. I was moving on since the death of Mary. She was my rock and I was hers. I was sitting here, looking around of where I was and where I was going. Richie, my friend since boot camp was sitting next to me. I could tell he was thinking about his family just like I was. I really was thinking about what life would of been like with Mary. I certainly had thought about her being my wife. The future of our relationship, children, everything people think about was going through my head and I was having a hard time mentally. I didn’t want to cry in front of my best buddy Richie but tears started to flow. The men and I were loaded into the plane. We were all facing each other, all sitting in jump seats. The men and I were starting to put on our game face, the hunt was on.

Jut back from my morning jog, I’m thirty-eight years old. Where has time gone? There is a lot on my mind lately and I am having a lot of stress at work. I took a quick shower and came downstairs for a coffee. I have to work in ten minutes so I’m going to suck down this coffee real fast. I’m out the door and a few minutes late for work. I can shorten this time if I take the shortcut down the road which is a cross-cut and comes out on Federal Road. I push the pedal down to move things along . I might just make it to work on time. Something flashed, I pushed the brakes on the Jeep real hard. I heard a thumping sound, bodies in front, flying debris.

Sitting in jail, newspaper in hand. I flip the pages to the obituary’s. The first page is showing a young lady. I start reading. Life taken suddenly, unexpected death. I look for her name, Mary.

 

D.H.Bilodeau 2015

Leave a Reply

