Day of Scratch Tickets

 

I’m a little kid at heart. Down at the local convenient store waiting for my fries to cook and sandwich to be made when something glittered at the counter. My eyes are like a hawk with bad breath but I saw the glitter, maybe a gleam of hope, a sign of something wonderful about to happen. I moved over that way, zigzagging about through the other patrons to find a shelf full of scratch tickets, lots of them. I waited in line about fourth out when this lady who I always see buying her daily dose of scratch tickets was at the counter. Oh boy, Now I’m going to be here for ten minutes or more. Could I please have a number one-number-two and a number twenty-five, and twenty-three and ahhhhhhhhhhh! Five. The clerk replies back to the lady. What was the last one before the last one and the second one after the first? My aching back, come on. I am about to blow a head gasket and start hollering at them but kept a tight lip. The lady scooped up all her tickets, looked me in the eye, giving me the snarl of death. Great, I’m here to buy some scratch tickets I stated to the clerk. What number do you want? I WANT THE WINNING NUMBER! Like the clerk never heard this stupid line, no one behind me laughed either. LOSER on my back I guess. I took a five dollar don’t ya holler ticket and paid the cashier. I’m now out in my truck and feeling real good about this one. Heck, I never buy these things so a win for me has to happen. I reach way down toward the twins in my pocket and find one penny. Good, This will do it, penny from heaven. I started scratching like no other, I needed quick money. Show me the sugar baby. I’m getting anxious, I just feel it. Match any two and at present and you win TEN THOUSAND. Boom! Present and a match of two numbers. I look on the back of the ticket and read the rules over and over. Match two and a present. I have two numbers and the present. I’m scooting around in my seat, raising my hands high in the sky, hollering in joy, when standing at my drivers side window, pistol in hand, was the blond lady. Never expect to win so when you do you can celebrate. Good day, D.H.Bilodeau 2015

Leave a Reply

