East African Airline Decent

man jail

The pilot Andrew was fumbling with something in his right pocket. I looked over at him and wondered what his real story was . Here was a man in his mid forty’s who never had any family and just pilots around the world. He has no other ambition to do anything else. Flying has overcome him in everyway. I spoke up, Hey Andrew? He turns his head in my direction, You ever been with a woman? I asked. Here he goes again fumbling in his pocket. It happened too quick, Andrew pulled out a bottle of something and sprayed it into my eyes. I started to gag, cough, and was feeling very dizzy. I did the only thing at the moment I could think of. I pushed the levers on the steering and put the plane into a nose dive.

Sounds of people talking, I’m inside some kind of hospital and everyone is speaking a different language than I’m used to hearing. It is not common to hear other languages in different hubs. I am being wheeled around on a gurney of some sort to a different location. I cannot speak, only open my eyes, listening to maybe an answer of my whereabouts. I coughed, oh no, attention to me has been noticed. A woman of East African decent is looking at me with those big brown eyes. Sir, You must lay still! She has demanded me. I will let you know what is going on in a minute, You must be understanding Sir. I give her a  nod in acknowledgement. I’m waiting now inside a small room with bright lights and have to urinate so bad. My arms and legs have shackles on them so it is impossible to move. The woman comes back inside the room and comes to my side. Sir, I’m sorry to report that the plane you were riding in has crashed into our country. Many people, some with babies inside have died because of your equipment failures and for this we have to hold you accountable for your actions. I want to explain what happened if I may. Sir, Your time will come when you meet the City Council, your fate will be worked out there.

I am now in a cell in an East African country. My cell mate is from England. His name is Edward and he was in Africa with his family on vacation. He is coughing real bad and vomiting all the time. Edward, why are you so sick? Has it been something you ate. You have been sick for over two weeks now and should have been better by now. Edward responds, I think I have Ebola. What the heck is that Edward? It is a deadly virus and now you have been in contact. It would be better if you took your life now, there is now cure for this virus. I could tell I didn’t want this virus and I was going to stay real far away from Edward. Time went on and Edward passed only a few days after our conversation. I still have not come down with the disease.

I’m now getting out of my comfy chair in the living room, I look out and both of our children and their loved ones are sitting around the living room. I can smell the remnants of the annual turkey. I must have fallen asleep. Happy Thanksgiving day folks, I’m going to enjoy just being around family.

Bilodeau,D.H. 2014

Leave a Reply

