Stranger Beside You

stranger

 

An observation of people is the story. I woke up today after a long nap and decided that two hours after noon it was about time to go get some lunch. I had to take a care a few things in the house before I left and also checked on the dog. Ok, he is doing alright. I put my jacket on, I’m  thinking this jacket might be too warm for today. Oh, I put the coat on anyhow, and moved outside to get the truck started. Yes, this jacket is too warm, I’m going to wear it anyways. I started the truck and off for a short venture I proceed. I am still trying to shake the cobwebs out of my head from the nap and taking in the views along the way. Oh, that is great the lake is crystal clear today, hey look, I see a Loon swimming around looking for fish. I drive another mile or so and the store is on the left. I put my blinker on. making sure no one clips me from behind. I proceeded into the parking lot without any incident. I’m still trying to shake the cobwebs when I look in the rearview mirror to check to see if I’m still handsome. Nope, I looked at my eyes and it looks like I just came from a pot convention. My eyes, they really take a beating with the allergies I have. No one will say anything and I really do not care, well maybe a little. I walk into the store and it is quite peaceful this late in the afternoon, mind you everyone else on this planet has eating their lunch by now. I placed my order and I’m standing there and two guys and a lady walk into the store. They are not together for as far as I can gather. I am standing patiently waiting for my food.  I am  just standing there in my trance but listening to chit chat between the customers that walked in. Hi, one guy in a trench coat say’s to the other. They each try to joke about not winning the scratch tickets. The guy in the trench coat says to the other your a winner when you lose. Huh, I’m  really thinking hard at this moment. Now I’m thinking this guy is a real loser. The chit chat goes on. The lady comes back to the counter and tells the guy she walked in with , Hey Dad, you need anything else? The man replies no. The guy in the trench coat is floored. Your Dad? He replies to the lady. Yes my Dad, she replies back to the man in the trench coat, I’m Eighty-five years old. What? you don’t look a day over sixty. The man thanks the guy in the trench coat. He really did look young. His reply was that he never drank or smoked in his life, this is what kept my youth. I’m looking at the guy in the trench coat thinking he is probably my age but looks like he has had some hard years. He continues talking with the Vet and states he was a supervisor but got injured and that he was a reformed alcoholic but been sober for many years. He can no longer work because of his injuries he sustained. I could tell his leg wasn’t good because walking for him looked to be somewhat of a challenge.  One of the guys responded that if you talk with people, that everyone has a story. It was rewarding to listen to these men talk. I was very inspired that two men from really two different world were chatting away. I have made this my pledge for the day. I’m going to talk to people to find out what their story is. Very uplifting, I am now awake, out of my coma. I’m looking at a renewed spark on life. Have a great afternoon, I’m going to talk with myself. Hey self, what you doing today. Nothing, just hanging and writing about  people that have brightened up my Day.

Bilodeau,D.H. 2014

Leave a Reply

