Please Answer Me

eastern

Did you hear me calling? I do not know how many times I have called and left a message. Please call me it is important. I’m not trying to annoy you honey, this is really important. Why are you not answering your telephone? I need you now, please pick up the phone. I lay here inside this cold truck, upside down on its roof, I am shivering . The phone is about to lose the last remaining charge, no one will answer me. My head is hurting real bad when I smacked it on the windshield. My leg is pinned under the dashboard. I thought I heard something up over the embankment, I am holding my breath so that I can hear the faintest sounds.  I hear some growling, Have I become a meal for the wild animals? Please honey answer the phone, I need you.

Time throughout the night is in fragments. I do believe that I fell asleep only to be awakened by animal sounds. I cannot get the fact out of my head that coyote’s are out there, stalking its prey. I do believe I’m a sitting duck for feed. I make another phone call to my wife. Ring, Ring, Ring, no answer on the other end, I hang up the phone. A crashing sound again, this time real close. I look outside the window and staring me in the face is a large coyote. I am in fear like no other. I try to make myself real small and curl up into a ball but I am stuck, unable to move. The animal growls, stares me down and lunges at the window to let me know he is in charge. I am shaking so bad my teeth are chattering, it is not going to end good. The coyote runs to the other side of the truck, an open window is on that side. I can feel the breath of the animal, sharp teeth crunching down, pain. The phone is ringing, I cannot answer, I hear nothing, the phone has died, I have died.

Bilodeau,D.H. 2014

Leave a Reply

