Player Of The Year

water boy

 

The whistle was going off and it was time. I looked over to the coach and he gave me a nod, a command of sort, to get out there and do my job. I started running from side to side and dodging other players, hitting shoulder pads from time to time. I got hit from the side and almost fell down, but with my sure feet that was not going to happen. I can hear the fans cheering and I look up at the time clock to witness that time is running out. I reach down into my container and pull out a water bottle. I bring it up to another players mouth, enticing him into a squirt of water hoping to rehydrate him. I am the Water Boy and proud of it. I look to the sidelines and get hand signals that it is time to come back off the field. The few minutes of adrenalin I received in that short moment had fulfilled me. I am the water boy and proud of it.

Bilodeau,D.H. 2014

Leave a Reply

