Backyard Soldiers

sway

 

I was awaiting the arrival of my new six-horsepower weed-whacker from Bomen’s Store when I heard the coffee pot percolation complete. Oh, the smell of a fresh brewed coffee. I was pouring the coffee when I heard a vehicle come up the driveway. Oh, great my weed-whacker is here. I finished pouring my coffee when out the back window I saw a man dressed in camouflage and carrying a M16 rifle. I jumped back when I saw him point the gun toward the house and then started shooting. The glass in my kitchen window shattered into a million pieces and shards cut through my left arm, slicing layers of skin. I rolled around and was able to crawl to the other side of the house. Army men were surrounding the house and my dog Kogen was barking like crazy, unaware of the impending array of ammo coming toward us. I knew my wife was upstairs getting herself ready for work, I hollered up to her. Martha, are you alright? No answer, I hollered again with the same results. I needed to get upstairs to check on her but also this is where I kept the gun closet and my special MK-115 Carbine/Grenade Launcher. The bullets were making a mess of the house and the noise was beyond the 85 decibels that the ear can handle. I was trying to plug my ears but stay protected somewhat too. I was at the bottom of the stairs and I hollered up again to Martha, Honey, Are you ok ? Answer Me, Martha!  She crawled to the top landing, injured from the bullets flying through the house. Blood was coming out of her mouth, probably a chest wound.  She was holding something metallic, It was my MK-115 Carbine, she pushed it down over the top edge of the stairs. The gun sliding all the way down and into my hands. I was feeling very secure right now and checked to see if there was ammo inside the weapon. There was a full gun clip and also two grenades. I looked back up the stairs to thank Martha, I could tell she was no longer with us. Oh, no my dear Martha. The bullets are still flying through the house when I got close to a window and launched a grenade out the back window. I crawled out to the front of the house and launched my second grenade. The smoke cleared and I listened for sounds, there was none. I opened the front door and standing in front of it was a soldier, he was pointing his gun at me and mine was pointing at him. We both shot and I felt something penetrate my left arm. I fell to the ground within a seconds. The soldier fell to the ground also, I looked into his eyes, he was dead. I stood outside for quite some time in shock from all that had happened. I stood motionless, needing to find an answer to why these men were at my house. I had to check on Martha, I walked to the top of the stairs and there she was. She opened her eyes and smiled at me. You cannot get rid of me that quick, she replied. I thought you were dead, no honey I will be ok, but get me out of this broken down house. We stumbled around trying to get out of the house, the two of us, arm and arm, alive.

Bilodeau,D.H. 2014

 

Leave a Reply

