I Hear You Now Dad

2012-05-06 02.32.53

I worried that something was wrong. I told myself that I better go check on my father because he had told me the day earlier that he wasn’t feeling well. I called my twin brother and told him that after my dentist appointment that I would go to see if he was alright.

Our Dad is a strong man, nothing ever seemed to bother him. He was a man of steel and would never show that there was something wrong. I had to think about this because he told me last week he wasn’t feeling well. That’s not like him. We get so caught up in our lives that we have to stop for a minute and think about our loved ones. I knew that I had to get over there as soon as possible to check on him.

I made the short drive over to his house, so worried about him. He was calling out and I missed it. I knocked on the door and there he was sitting where he alway’s sits. I said, Hey Dad, how is it going? Trying to make small talk. He replied and looked at me. NOT GOOD was his response. I about melted right there, not good. I started the  third degree of questions, my medic mode also kicked in. So what has been going on? I fainted this morning in bed, I believe I did  because when I started coming to, everything was white, I was very dizzy. I have been having tingling in my arms and general weakness.

Sometimes a son has to talk to the folks to make them understand they need to see a doctor. I felt at this point that this was very critical and he should go to the hospital. I was having worries of a possible heart problem or pending stroke. The test were performed and everything in his heart and brain scan was good. It was determined that he had been taking several meds and was having a reaction. The doctors took away three meds that he needed for another issue. He no longer has the dizzy spells but still some tingling in his hands and still somewhat weak.

Oh to have aging parents. I’m not sure if I worry more about them or my own children. The point made here is to make sure you check on your elder folks and when they tell you someone is not right to make sure you react. Stop, Look, and Listen is what they always told me. Now it is time to stop-look-and listen to what they are saying.

Have a great day folks.

©Bilodeau,D.H.2014

Leave a Reply

