An Intruder Within the Ranks

InvasionThere was an imposter within our battalion. It seemed like every move we made out in the jungle while out on patrol we were ambushed. It was like someone knew every move we were making. I was a sniper in our little squad and we came with three squads to this remote area. Our instructions were to capture the leader of this region so he could be tried for war crimes.

I had thoughts about maybe someone in this group being a trader and really didn’t want to say anything. The reason I suspected someone at first was because every night when it came down to, our time ,he was never around. The other men in our squad would hang together but he always seemed to disappear for about forty-five minutes then return like nothing ever changed.

Our commanding officer had his own tent and was set-up about forty meters from everyone else. I decided it was time to let the C.O. in on what I was thinking. Sir, I saluted him, Can I have a word with you? At ease soldier, he commanded me. Sir? I have been having questioning thoughts in my head about something. It seems like every time we go on a patrol we are attacked almost like clockwork. I feel someone in our group is contacting someone. I sense it is someone in my squad. Private! Those are strong accusations. Sir, I do not want anyone in our squad to be killed because I didn’t do something about it. I feel it is, Private Rickard, and I want to spy on him, to gather more evidence against ,if this is confirmed with you, C.O.

I was granted permission and the next time we came back from a patrol I was going to set my plan in action. I was going to follow private Rickard and find out what really was going on.

We had just returned from a patrol and was relaxing when I see private Rickard slip out off to my far right. There was a mango tree at the edge of our camp so I decided to hide behind it. I could see that he was moving further into the jungle. I kept following him and what I found totally made my mouth drop. Rickard was laying on the ground and cuddling a native woman from the Sameon Tribe. This had to be where the information was being passed about our daily recon runs. I decided to watch a little longer when I see the woman reach out and grab a walkie talkie and report something in her native tongue. What came next took me by total surprise. She reached out from the bushes and pulled out a large knife and stabbed Rickard into his heart. I could see the life coming out of Rickard in a hurry. I took out my service revolver and turned on the silencer, I took aim. The bullet hit her square between the eyes and she dropped. I could see Rickard was hanging on, barely, I came up to him. Rickard! I need to asked you a question. Have you been passing information to the Sameon Tribe? He nodded yes,then he passed right there. I came back to my commanding officer and reported what just happened.

Time went on and the ambushes were still very consistent, like nothing had changed. Someone else was working for the Sameon group and I was going to find out whom. I watched everyone with careful eyes and reported in my journal anything out of the ordinary. If I could find some inconsistencies then maybe I would follow this person around a bit more closely. I watched everyone for about three weeks and really didn’t find anything that was not normal in our operations. The one person that I hadn’t been able to watch was our commanding officer. Why didn’t I think of this earlier? I was going to figure a way to watch the C.O., Maybe this was the missing link.

I laid in the bushes next to the C.O’s. tent and was listening to his conversations with other officers by satellite phone. All of the sudden, I could hear a man speaking in Sameon dialect. It was my commanding officer. I was no expert in language and couldn’t understand what he was saying, but I could smell a rat. How was I going to take care of this rat without putting myself in jeopardy. I decided to relay this information to other members in my squad. You guy’s are my best buddies and you would do anything for any other member correct? They all responded positively. You guys, I believe our commanding officer is a rat. I overheard a confirmation via satellite phone and he was speaking in Sameon. I know he is telling the other side of our whereabout’s every night. He is going to get us all killed. The plan I have includes all of you guys to assist me in the capture of our C.O.

The look on everyone’s eyes told me that they meant business. I told everyone to have their weapons locked and loaded. We all met behind and off to the side of the C.O. tent. I was going to storm into the tent at gun point and command the C.O. to raise his hands. I ran in fast and pointed my weapon at him. The laser site was lined up between his eyes. In a moment of me commanding him, he kicked something from within his desk. I looked down real quick and spotted a grenade. I dove out the front door at the same time it exploded.

The last I remember was seeing the grin on the commanding officer’s face. A look of distrust, not one of a killer of his own men.  He was smiling, like he was happy.

It was later found out that our C.O. had made a connection with the Sameon group and lots of money, in American ,was going to be transferred into his account in the U.S.

So always watch your back and make sure to be vigilant in your surroundings. What seems like normal operation may be a cover up of something that will get you in the end. Hoorah!

©Bilodeau,D.H. 2014

Leave a Reply

