If

slip

Many times that I have either received injury or just tripped on something. If for the moment when walking down a sidewalk I would have noticed the not completed brick work. I stepped on the edge and completely wiped out. I hit the floor and never saw it coming. Every have a moment like that?

If for the moment when ice skating as a young man that on the edge of the ice rink was a large pine branch hanging out over the edge. I looked up but too late. I never knew that pine taste so good with chunks of teeth in it.

If for the moment when walking into a dark barn that I would have known the hole was in the hallway, larger enough for one leg to fall through. It took me down in a hurry and I fell sideways into the wall which had nails exposed. I now have permanent red scars on my shoulder.

If for the moment when as a child that sleeping in the newly constructed tree house during a heavy rain storm that it produced a major leak. I jumped back and a nail punctured my back. I remember pulling myself off the nail. I was so embarrassed that I never told anyone. The doctor asked what that scar was in my back later in life. He told me that it hit so close to where it could have killed me.

If for the moment when I jumped into a silage silo, which only looked like five or six feet,  ended up more like twelve feet. Darn that hurt. It was a wonder that I didn’t break any bones ,but it sure hurt like hell.

If for the moment when ski racing that I would of turned just a split second quicker. I clipped a racing gate and tumbled all the way down the slope to the finish line. Well almost to the finish line. I came in contact with an iron pole. It wrapped around my back. I couldn’t do anything for two weeks after that one.

I have a lot of IF”S and I’m sure many of you folks have encountered a few. I would really like to hear some. Oh, if the rock I threw would of been a few millimeters away from my friend’s head that he wouldn’t of had stitches. I went through a lot of band aids and survived but really think about if I was only an inch away things wouldn’t have happened.

Hope everyone is enjoying the summer. Good day.

©Bilodeau,D.H. 2014

2 comments

  1. I have several moments like that. My worst lately was hitting a glass wall next to a glass door hitting my face flat on it. My wife saw it and some witness. The lady opposite the glass wall said, ” too much windex!” Embarrassing! Oh, well, we have our moments. Great post!

    Like

Leave a Reply

