Last Moment With You

car r

 

I was driving down an old country road in Aroostook County, Maine. It was a long days work and the travel home was going to take me two hours. It was starting to sprinkle out so the visibility was starting to get worse. I was kind of day dreaming when I looked off to the side of the road and saw rear lights from a car. The car was burrowed into the woods and upside down. My heart started racing, it was going to get much worse.

I stepped out of my vehicle and ran toward the car. It was very dark outside and I remembered I had a flashlight stashed into the side of the door. I turned around real quick to retrieve it when I heard a loud scream. It sounded like a young girl crying. I grabbed the flashlight and went over to the car. Inside was a young women with blood all over her face and by looking at the position she was in that she was jammed inside and just under the dashboard.

I told the young lady, or Corinth later I found out, that she was going to be ok and help was on the way. I looked down toward her legs and noticed that she had broken both legs. I could tell they were broken by the disfigurement in her legs. She was screaming for me to help her. I was almost losing it myself but knew I had to help her. I told her I had to run to my car so I could call for more help. I squeezed her hand, she responded back with a tight grip.

Talking with the dispatcher was killing me because I wanted to get right back to Corinth. I still could hear her screaming from a distance. I told the dispatcher I had to get right back to her after I told her of what injuries she had. I made my way back to the wreaked car, tripping on a piece of debris before I got there and slightly spraining my ankle.

Corinth told me she was eighteen years old and a cheerleader and in her senior year of high school. She looked at me in the eye and said, Sir? Am I going to die? My heart about melted at that point. I had no way of knowing the outcome but she had some serious injuries with loss of blood. I told her she was going to be alright. I started to hear the sirens in the distance, help was soon to be here.

The firefighters had to use the jaws of life to extricate her from the vehicle. I could see the color going out of her face, a very parlor look. They had her out of the car and onto a stretcher. I went up to Corinth and squeezed her hand one more time. She responded with a tight squeeze.

I will never forget this moment. I found out later Corinth died in the hospital from multiple trauma. I’m glad someone was there in her last moments, glad it could be me.

From this experience I quit my job and started taking classes to become a paramedic. I know I can help someone else again, Cant I?

©Bilodeau,D.H. 2014  Fictional Story, but could be true to so many responders like myself. Lieutenant D. Bilodeau, Livermore Fire Dept

2 comments

  1. So sorry to hear that. So young. So tragic. In her last moments, you gave her comfort, ease her fears, give her a bit of hope. It’s also inspiring to know you change work to be a paramedic. You are a hero and all who help try save lives everyday.

    Like

    1. This was a story, fictional at that. I do work in medical but at my work place. My real job is electrical and instrument tech. I’m also a firefighter. I have been witness to many of tragic incidents in my life. This is probably why I wrote this. You have to have an outlet and maybe this is my way of letting out sort of speak.

      Like

Leave a Reply

