My Madaline

madalineI can smell her perfume, it brings back all the memories now. I laid down next to her, to comfort her in her last moments. We had spent an eternity together, she moves me to no end. She is opening her eyes and the tears flow from my eyes. She holds my hand and gives me a light grip, letting me know she is still there. My body is shaking and I do not have words. My heart is melting with her, alone I’m feeling at this moment. We have this one last fragment of time to spend together I flash back to the time we were dancing at our wedding. I remember her laying in this same hospital giving birth to our children. Times at the lake, her laughing, and giggles from the time the chicken fell off the grill. I remember the love we had together and the warmth of her body next to mine every night in bed. Tears are running down my face, I look down and she is gone.

I have spent the last days of my life bringing her flowers. The tears are still flowing. If only I could have one last kiss. Why did you have to leave me?

©Bilodeau,D.H. 2014

6 comments

      1. That is so great. Isn’t just wonderful, where inspiration comes from. Auditory and visual cues are so strong for triggering our creativity. You are way ahead of the curve if you’ve already discovered your imagination fuel. When I read your story, I made an instant connection to the photos I mentioned earlier and the song/video you recommended to me:)

        Like

  1. It’s really beautiful! Deep and romantic.
    Hey it would be great if you could read this story “Next To Tansen” of a little girl who pleads her mom to make it rain by singing as the girl strongly believes her mom can really do it- http://tlng.me/1jAocDq and vote for it if you like. It’s a part of a global online short story competition and very close to winning $100 prize money. Thanks 🙂

    Like

    1. Thank You for reading my story. It is fictional but could be non-fictional to me or anyone in this world at any moment. I read your story. It was a great read. I voted for it. Keep on writing my friend. This is a great outlet to challenge your mind.

      Like

Leave a Reply

