Honey? What Is This Lump Here?

C2-0167__25578_1325295847_1280_1280I cried, she was all I had. We met in high school and had been together for 32 years. Honey? I feel something in my breast can you come here and check this out? I went into the bathroom and felt around her breast in a circular motion and there it was. She had a small lump probably the size of a pea. Do you think it is anything honey? I don’t know but you better go have it checked out.

We arrived at the doctors office a little early because we didn’t want to miss this important visit. We sat in the waiting room for it seemed like hours, it was only minutes, but it seemed like a life hours. Miss, you can come in this way. My husband entered the room with me. The doctor came in and felt around my breast and located the lump we had been feeling. Miss, I’m going to send you for a breast exam. This has to be done today. I’m thinking I have so much to do today and this was not in the plans. The doctor told me that you cannot wait. If this is cancer it could spread very rapidly, time is of the essence. Your appointment will be today at eleven this morning.

We traveled to the local hospital and they put me in those hospital suits, I can never understand why these do not have a backside. I guess one can figure it out. Miss? can you please come in here. I’m going to do a breast exam at this station. Your husband will have to stay in the waiting room. The machine examined my breast for it seemed like more angles than I learned in geometry. The test was performed, she told me I could put my street clothes back on. You can wait in the waiting room and the doctor will call you in awhile to talk of the results.

Miss? You can come in here, we need to discuss the results. What the results showed is that I had breast cancer and that I was going to have to make some decisions soon of what treatment. My husband and I were in disbelief and saddened by the results. We knew that we had a long road ahead of us.

We decided, aggressive as it might seem, to have a total mastectomy. We didn’t want to take any chances of it spreading. The operation was performed and many days were spent in bed. I had to have chemo and radiation therapy for a few months. I went in for another exam to see if anything has spread and if the chemo and radiation was doing its job. What the results showed this time totally floored me. The cancer had spread into my lymph nodes and with further exam it was found to be in my lungs and brain. The doctor told me that this was a fast moving form of cancer and that you better go home and live the last remaining time with your family and friends.

I met my wife in high school, she was the most caring and loving wife anyone could ask for. I’m writing this because my wife passed away last night and I’m sitting in the living room weeping. I understand that people live and people die, but why my beautiful wife.

This story was written in support of breast cancer and screening. I hope that all people realized that early screening can save your life. This story was not true in my family, this is only a story. It can however reflect on many woman in this world that are currently fighting this fight. Husband’s are there to help you through. Please support your local or national breast cancer foundations. Good day- Have your screening today.

©Bilodeau,D.H. 2014

Leave a Reply

