Time For Healing

imagesY5I1B5QS  She caught my eye when I was a young man, grade school if I remember. There was that twinkle in her eye that totally won me over. It was during the junior high years that I finally got up enough nerve to ask her for a date. The words from her mouth, well it is about time you asked me. Had she known I had a secret crush on her?. Maybe it was esp, or some telepathic thing that connected us. Life for us was just beginning, I knew from this moment that the two of us belonged together forever.

The high school years were no different, many nights out at the movies, going to sporting events, life was good. She still had that twinkle that I had noticed as a young man. One night after going to a movie and on the drive home she snuggled up real close to me. We approached the driveway to  her parents house and I turned off the car like I had a millions times. Usually it was, hey see you tomorrow, and I would reply, all right see you. This time she snuggled up close to me and looked into my eyes. The twinkle had brightened, we stared at each other for a moment, then she put her  arms around me and pursed her lips. This was a moment I wasn’t prepared for. I hadn’t even kissed my dog before and here before my eyes was the most beautiful girl in the world ready for a kiss. I moved forward and kissed her, and kissed her, I think we did until daylight, it was magical.

Life had moved on and we graduated high school. I was drafted and spent a year in active duty. When I returned life for us was going to take a drastic turn. She had told me she had not been feeling good. The doctors confirmed that she had leukemia. My life was shattered. I had dreams of being with her the rest of my life. Now she was fighting for her life. A few months had passed and her illness was not getting any better. The twinkle in her eyes were gone. Another month had passed and her parents called me one night to tell me that she was asking for me. She was now in a home of solitude, a place to have full care until the end. I put my sneakers on real fast after the call and made a bee line to be at her side. I walked up to her bed and looked into her eyes. She told me that she wanted one more kiss. She pursed her lips and I moved toward her. We met together, I kissed her, this time I wasn’t going to let her go. We kissed for it seemed like hours. I finally pulled back slowly and when I looked for that wonderful smile, I noticed that she was gone.

©2014 Bilodeau, H.D.

Leave a Reply

