Next Shoveling Event-All is Welcome

628x471We have honed our skills here in Maine with shoveling and it is only Jan 5th. We still have a long winter ahead of us. You have to get in shape for shoveling or your going to throw your back out. My method is to take it real easy for awhile on the up stroke. I push the shovel in to gather a good bunch and when lifting I do not jerk myself getting back up. I take it slow from the starting line as you could say.

We have been shoveling driveways and sidewalks. Also been shoveling a path for the oil man and also a path for the dog so he can do his thing. It is now time to start with the roofs. This is another skill that we do not get to do very often. The climbing part is not usually the problem. It usually is the falling down part that gets to most of us. There is not too many Mainer’s that haven’t fallen off a roof at some point in their life. It goes with the territory. 

We are preparing for a rain event Monday and this will be added weight to the roof or structures. Basically it turns all that snow on your roof into a popsicle. We really have it rough around here in New England. No this is not another country. It is just the name we were giving when they grouped a bunch of colonies way back when.???????????????????????????????????????

I’m going to brew some coffee and come up with a game plan for the day. I thought it was going to be a day of football but I was told otherwise. The day has been planned and we are going to a delayed Christmas party that was snowed out two weekends in a row. I still have to shovel off my shed which has taking a toll from the previous years. I might not get a chance and you could see a flattened shed come Tuesday morning. Oh Well, give me a chance to build a decent shed. feb13-25

I hope that when you get up on your roof to inspect the amounts of snow that you have, keep a foot planted at all times. Remember things that go up come down. If you have any stories about climbing or falling off a roof I would be interested in hearing about it. I’m sure we all have a story.

Leave a Reply

